Design Your Life

Hi there.  My name is Chad and I am a dad, husband, designer, and occasional triathlete.  This is my first blog post, and I really have no idea what I am doing, but here goes..

I have been designing for as long as I can remember.  From building my own Lego creations, to making bases for my G.I. Joe and Stars Wars figures, to sketching houses, castles, and space ships.   When I went to college I majored in Industrial Design after I realized that I wanted to get paid to “make cool things.”

For the majority of my professional life I worked as a designer and eventually design director for various wholesalers and manufacturers of home decor products. There have been several key points along the way when I was able to “design my life.”  4 years ago, just before our 3rd child was born, I left the corporate world to start my own design consultancy, CHAD ESSLINGER DESIGN.  My plan was to design products as well as help homeowners create beautiful and functional living spaces.

We recently moved from our home of 9 years and planted roots in a great new town, with great new schools and great new friends.  My wife and I had a vision to design a life for our family and a big part of that was creating a new home.  We purchased a house that was a “boring beige box” and are slowly molding it into our forever home.

Here are some images of the most recent updates to our home: the living room, the kitchen and the 4 seasons room which we affectionately call The Cabin.  I look forward to sharing the updates to our home as well as my professional design journey, and perhaps the occasional family story.  Cheers!

Living Room Living Room 2 Living Room 3 Kitchen 1 Kitchen 2 Kitchen 3 Kitchen 4Cabin

Leave a Reply

